Your mission, should you choose to except it . . . Wally World

BooYahhh!!!!tom-cruise-mission-impossible-5-rogue-nation-2015-bmw-s1000rr-motorbike-wallpaperI’ve already expressed my love for the Mission:Impossible series and here’s the newest trailer.  Looks awesome.  And Christopher McQuarrie directing?  BooYah again.  Anyway here’s the latest trailer.

And now it’s time for a little Vacation.Va

I grew up watching the first one.  It was one of those “R” movies that my friends and I could recite word for word some of the scenes.  It was that kind of R movie in the 80’s that made you feel a little more like an adult for watching it and catching some of the humor.  And I really don’t think anything needs to be said about Christie Brinkley and thirteen year old boys.  “This is crazy, this is crazy, this crazy”.  It was a treasured movie, and still is.  And I feel even older when I say they don’t make movies like this anymore but the fact of the matter is they don’t.

Harold Ramis directed the original Vacation.  Here’s a short list of some of his other directed pieces:

1.  Caddyshack

2.  Groundhog Day

3.  a few episodes of the office.

On top of directing here’s a list of some of the things he’s written.

1.  Animal House

2.  Meatballs

3.  Caddyshack

4.  Stripes

5.  Ghostbusters

6.  Writer on SCTV

And although you can see that Mr. Ramis knows comedy he did not write Vacation, that was to left an individual who is an icon to those of us who grew up in the 80’s.  Here’s a list of some of this individuals directorial efforts.  He also happened to write the screenplays of these movies.

1.  Sixteen Candles

2.  Weird Science

3.  Breakfast Club

4. Ferris Bueller’s Day Off

5.  Planes, Trains, and Automobiles

His screenplay credits are a host of movies that helped define, I believe, a generation, especially along with those just written.  John Hughes.  I’m still amazed at how well he was able to capture family life, teen life, life in the 80’s.  I sometimes feel like John Hughes is so underappreciated.  Look at what he contributed to the cinematic world it’s really outstanding.  The talent he discovered, worked with, the music he used.  Unbelievable.

So yeah, I think it’s safe to say they really don’t make movies like Vacation anymore.  Although maybe the will now since those of us who grew up watching these movies are the ones making movies now.  I have some high hopes for the new Vacation.  Both trailers have made me laugh.  I’m still a tad weary of it but a faint glimmer is starting to shine in my eye.  And Ed Helms and Christina Applegate are really funny folks.

Anyway, check the second trailer out for yourself.  Peace, and thank you for stopping by.

PS – When I was fourteen or fifteen my family took a similar type of vacation, from Missouri to California, and although it wasn’t plagued with the craziness that Chevy Chase’s was it had moments that are still talked about in my clan to this day.  I love thinking about family roadtrips.  I’ve come to expect that each one will have it’s own unique story to tell.  It’s like they become they’re own entity, in a very weird way.

PSS – Tartan Prancer = Awesomeness

Leave a Reply

